Home About Us Faculty Infrastructure Administration Staff Members Admissions Contact Us

Introducing Soon! New vocational courses designed and adopted by UGC, ICAR, and ICSR — Environment Science, Journalism, Biotechnology, and Translation Proficiency
Traditional Indian systems of yoga, yagna / havan, and moral and ethical education to channelise youth energy in proper direction
Increased lab facilities in Science, Agriculture and Dairy Technology and linking them to research networks of ISRO, CSIR, DRDO, DST, OCAR, DAE, ICMR and others
Home :: Faculty of Arts » Political Science


The putative as well as renowned Department of Political Science was primarily established in 1950 at the U.G. level and culminated at the PG. level in 1962. This department is protensively active in this auspicious region and imparting preponderous academic prudence in this locality in particular and adjacent areas is particular. This department has been absolutely lucky to have iconic personalities in Dr. Sukhbir Singh, Dr. D.C. Chaturvedi and Dr. Jai Prakash Prem Dev. This Department has also been involved good research activities of National and International relevance. The teaching member of this department Dr. Jaiparkash Prem Dev was appointed as a Principal at Chandpur in Bijnor, also Mr. Somitra Mohan being the faculty member was selected as an IAS officer, presently working as a DM at Darjeeling in West Bengal.

Master Degree Programme (M.A)
No. of Seats:60

Semester I:
Paper I – Western Political Thought (From Plato to Hegel)
Paper II – Contemporary Political Theory
Paper III – Research Methodology
Paper IV – Ancient Indian Political Thought :
Paper V – Practical Work / Exercise
Semester II:
Paper I –Political Sociology
Paper II – Political Thinking Since Marx
Paper III – Comparative Politics
Paper IV – Indian Constitutional System
Paper V – Practical Work / Exercise
Semester III:
Paper I – Public Administration
Paper II – International Politics
Paper III – Politics in India
Paper IV –Modern Indian Political Thought :
Paper V – Practical Work / Exercise
Semester IV:
Paper I – Concept and Issue in Political Science
Paper II – Post Cold War International Relations
Paper III – State Politics with Special Reference to U.P.
Paper IV – Indian Administration:
Paper V – Dissertation and Viva Voce
Examination & Evaluation
(a) Internal assessment (written tests, quizzes, term papers, home assignments and seminars etc)shall be a continuous process in each semester.
(b) External assessment (Examination at the end of each semester) shall be based on the question papers set by the external examiners .

Bachelor Degree Programme (B.A)
This is a 3-year programme. The courses offered in B..A. Political Science are
First Year:
Paper I – Political Theory
Paper II – National Movement and Indian Constitution.
Second Year:
Paper I – Indian Government and Politics
Paper II – Comparative Government and Politics
Third Year:
Paper I –Public Administration
Paper II – International Politics

Some distinguished faculty /former Head of Department are as follows:
  1. Dr. Sukhbir Singh (M.A.)
  2. Dr. D.C. Chaturvedi (M.A., Ph.D.)
  3. Prof. Ravish Chandra (M.A.)
  4. Dr. Vikas Vashishtha (M.A., Ph.D.)

# Name Designation Qualification  Specialisation        Phone / Mobile  
1. Dr. Narendra Singh Reader & Head M.Phil, Ph.D Western Political Thought 91 9456036161
2. Dr. Pratap Chaudhary Sr. Lecturer Ph.D Comparative Politics 91 01398-252868
91 9412111884


Janta Vedic College Baraut (Baghpat) is the sole owner of this website. The information on this website may change without any notice. While all possible care have been taken to make the information on this website authentic, Janta Vedic College Baraut (Baghpat) disclaims any and all liability to any individual or organisation for any loss or damage caused to them for any action taken on the basis of the general information available on this website. Also we do not assume any liability on the omission, typographical errors, error due to any other reason whatsoever, completeness, accuracy or usefulness of the contents provided on this website.